Chapter 3. Command Reference

Table of Contents

The File Menu
The Edit Menu
The View Menu
The Settings Menu
The Help Menu
Context Menus
Item Specific
General
Key Bindings
Tool Bar

The File Menu

File → New (Ctrl+N)

Creates a new empty plot.

File → Open Plot File (Ctrl+O)

Opens one or more existing plot files.

In a plot file all settings of a graphical presentation are stored in the INI style.

In case of more than one selected file and activated option Add files in the Basic settings, all files are shown in one window, otherwise new windows are opened for each file.

File → Open Data File

Opens one or more existing data files.

The numeric values have to be arranged in rows and columns in an text file. Within a row the values may be separated by commas, tabs, or spaces.

Point or comma can be selected as the decimal symbol in the dialog.

The first character of comment lines has to be #.

The number of rows and columns is detected by Kpl. Empty lines are ignored.

After reading, the 2D graphical presentation is displayed immediately according to the Autoplot settings.

In case of more than one selected file and activated option Add files in the Basic settings, all files are shown in one window, otherwise for each file a new window is opened.

Loading of data files overwrites an eventually displayed presentation in case of deactivated option Add files. When a data file is to be inserted in an existing graphical presentation, this has to be done by first activating Add files, or by creating a new array item using New Item.

File → Open Recent

Opens a submenu for selecting one of up to ten recently opened plot or data files.

In case of activated setting Add files the file is appended to an existing plot, otherwise it will replace the current plot.

File → Save (Ctrl+S)

Saves created or edited plot files.

File → Save As (Ctrl+Shift+S)

Allows to save the current graphical presentation as a plot file with another name.

File → Print (Ctrl+P)

Prints the graphical presentation to a printer chosen from a list or to a file.

File → PostScript Output

Saves the graphical presentation as a PostScript file in Portrait or Landscape orientation.

The output can be chosen to be PostScript (PS) or Encapsulated PostScript (EPS), the latter allowing to import the graphics in other applications. The bounding box is calculated exactly when Calculate Bounding Box is checked in the Basic Settings.

File → PostScript Preview

Creates a temporary PostScript file in Portrait or Landscape orientation and displays it by invoking the application (e.g. Okular) currently associated to PostScript files. This allows to print the PostScript output without permanently saving a PostScript file.

File → Export

Saves the graphical presentation as PDF, PNG, PPM, BMP, JPEG, TIFF, or SVG image file.

The minimum page size will be chosen when Calculate Bounding Box is checked in the Basic Settings.

File → New Window

Opens a new instance of Kpl.

File → Close Window

Close the window. If the closed window was the last instance open, Kpl will exit.

File → Quit (Ctrl+Q)

Exits Kpl.